Speak Like Jane Austen -  accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays
Speak Like Jane Austen -  accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays
Speak Like Jane Austen -  accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays
Speak Like Jane Austen -  accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Speak Like Jane Austen -  accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Speak Like Jane Austen -  accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Speak Like Jane Austen -  accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Speak Like Jane Austen -  accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays

Speak Like Jane Austen - accent reduction course - Mondays or Tuesdays

Regular price
₩195,000
Sale price
₩195,000
Regular price
₩195,000
Sold out
Unit price
per 

Reduce your accent fast with a 6 week literary themed pronunciation course using extracts from the six novels by Jane Austen 

Highlights

  • Join this course to reduce your accent when speaking in English  
  • 6 hours of live classes to work on your sounds, intonation & connected speech
  • Practice with extracts from the six Jane Austen novels to develop a neutral accent
  • Correction by your native speaker English teacher for accent reduction

Reduce your accent in this 6 hour English pronunciation course with a Jane Austen literature theme.  Each week you learn about a particular aspect of pronunciation, practice it in the session and at home - with a native speaker model to compare with.  Improve specific areas of phonology - sounds, word stress, sentence stress, rhythm, linking.  Personalised feedback improves your accent, intelligibility and accuracy.

The "Speak Like Jane Austen" Course

This is a 6 week course, structured so that you practise pronunciation using a different Jane Austen novel - and a different heroine each week:

Week 1: Northanger Abbey - Catherine Morland

Week 2: Sense and Sensibility - Marianne and Elinor

Week 3: Pride and Prejudice - Elizabeth Bennett

Week 4: Mansfield Park - Fanny Price

Week 5: Emma - Emma Woodhouse

Week 6: Persuasion - Anne Elliot

Each week one student will plan to give a presentation about the heroine of that week's novel.  In addition, in each session every student will:

  • give a micro presentation (1 minute) about "Jane Austen and Me" - for example - "my favourite Jane Austen novel"
  • read extracts out loud from a different Jane Austen novel each week 
  • learn about and practise one of the core areas below:

The essential features of English phonology - weak forms, linking, the, a/an

Making sounds: vowels and diphthongs

Making sounds: consonants and consonant clusters

Intonation and sentence stress - types of question, emphasising, conveying meaning

Word stress - word stress families 

Silent letters, homophones and homographs

Geoff says:

"This is a great way to reduce your accent, becoming more intelligible, clearer and more international in your use of English - while discussing Jane Austen!"

Only 6 places available.  Click Add to Cart to reserve your place.

Dates & time
    • Mondays from 6th May-10th June
    • 19.30 CET (Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Rome & most EU);
    • 18.30 (UTC+1/GMT+1) London, UK, Portugal
    • 20.30 Turkey, Greece, Ukraine, Saudi Arabia, 
    • 13.30 EDT Boston/New York

    or

    • Tuesdays from 7th May-11th June
    • 13.00 CET (Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Rome & most EU)
    • 12.00 (UTC+1/GMT+1) London, UK, Portugal
    • 14.00 Greece, Ukraine, Turkey, Saudi Arabia
    • 19.00 Singapore, Taiwan 
    • 20.00 Japan, South Korea
        Age 16+
        Online class size Maximum 6 participants, on Zoom. 
        What you learn
        • To make the sounds of English correctly
        • To be aware of and use English stress and rhythm
        • To link common words together to make a linguistic chunk
        • To be aware of changed pronunciations of key stressed words
        • To be aware of the differences between how words are written & spoken
        Your teacher
        • Geoff Hardy-Gould, BSc, MBA, CTEFLA, DTEFLA. 
        • Over 20 years' experience of UK language schools. 
        • Speaker at:  2024 IATEFL Conference; 2023 IATEFL TechLit! Exploring crossovers between technology and literature; 2022 Extensive Reading Foundation; 2021 TESOL Italia