Girl, Woman, Other - Wednesdays from 13th March

Girl, Woman, Other - Wednesdays from 13th March

Regular price
$167.00
Sale price
$167.00
Regular price
$167.00
Sold out
Unit price
per 

Read and discuss this prizewinning novel of race, identity and struggle 

Highlights

  • Join this book club and gain extra motivation to read in English
  • 7 hours of live classes to help you develop fluent speaking in English
  • Read this book for an insight into lives of struggle and success    
  • Be corrected by an expert English teacher to remove errors and mistakes

Practise and develop your English online in this 7 week course using Girl, Woman, Other by British author Bernardine Evaristo.  Each week you read some chapters, discuss them in class and improve specific areas of vocabulary or grammar while also examining literary aspects of the novel.  Personalised feedback improves your grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation.

The Book Club books

Girl, Woman, Other tells the story of the lives and struggles of twelve very different characters. Mostly women, black and British, they tell the stories of their families, friends and lovers, across the country and through the years.

Highly contemporary and multi-voiced, this is a dramatic new way of telling history.  It is a novel for our times: celebratory, ever-changing and utterly gripping.

Geoff says:

"This book has received incredible praise and reviews.  Girl, Woman, Other was a Sunday Times 1# bestseller, and it won the Booker Prize for fiction.  It was the British Book Awards Fiction Book of the Year for 2020.  

Only 8 places available.  Click Add to Cart to reserve your place.

The book
  • Genre: Contemporary fiction
  • Language: British English
  • Suitable for: people familiar with reading in English
  • Level:  Advanced
  • Text: Original: 130,000 words 
Dates & time
  • Wednesdays from 13th March- 24th April
  • 17.30 CET (Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Rome & most EU)
  • 16.30 (UTC+0/GMT+0, and UTC+1/GMT+1 after 31st March) London, UK, Portugal
  • 18.30 Greece, Ukraine
  • 19.30 Turkey, Saudi Arabia (18.30 after 31st March)
Age 18+
Online class size Maximum 8 participants, on Zoom, using break-out rooms for increased speaking and discussion
What you learn
  • To confidently speak and debate with others
  • To overcome any gaps by paraphrasing or rephrasing
  • To eradicate errors in grammar and pronunciation 
  • To develop and extend areas of high level vocabulary
  • To be immersed in the natural patterns of English syntax
  • To gain a deeper understanding of cultural issues
  • To perfect & enhance your English through summarising
Your teacher
  • Geoff Hardy-Gould, BSc, MBA, CTEFLA, DTEFLA. 
  • Over 20 years' experience of UK language schools. 
  • Speaker at:  2024 IATEFL Conference; 2023 IATEFL TechLit! Exploring crossovers between technology and literature; 2022 Extensive Reading Foundation; 2021 TESOL Italia